Novel Update

I got some notes from my brother and his wife on my first novel, which is very cool. I’m also still working through it a few chapters a week with my friend who is also a writer. We’re about two thirds of the way through. I’ve started thinking about some things I can do to improve it, but I don’t want to start a full revision pass until I’ve gathered all of her feedback, since I want to get it all done in one go. Based on our current schedule that should take another five or six weeks.

I also want to give myself some time away from my second novel, so that I can start the editing pass with fresh eyes. It’s only been three weeks, and I think I need to let it sit for a while longer before I’m ready to go on that. I’m not 100% happy with the ending, which is something I suspected would happen back at the outline phase. I probably should have worked harder back then to make sure it would all work out.

Since I can’t work on either of the first two right now, I’ve been thinking about ideas for a third novel. I had some interesting setting and situation ideas, but I was having trouble coming up with characters or a plot that would work, so I shelved that and started brainstorming. I came up with some new ideas that dovetailed nicely with the idea that I scrapped in lieu of the second novel. I think the new direction will make the thing work.

My first two novels have lots of POV characters and every plot development happens “on screen”. The new idea I have works more like a detective story, and I ought to be able to follow a single character POV for the entire narrative. I think that will be a good exercise for me in terms of improving my writing. I’m not sure if I’m going to go with the first or third person yet. I think I’ve got enough ideas brainstormed to make the whole thing work, and I’ve started working on the outline today.

Leave a Reply

