Novel Update

Word Count Indicator
Current Word Count: 57560
Words Written Today: 436

Quality Indicator
Current Resolved Issues: 43
Current Open Issues: 20
Issues Resolved Today: 2
Issues Opened Today: 3

Today I updated chapter 32, which means that I have now modified every single chapter at least a little bit since I started the editing/rewrite process. Since I started I have: eliminated two chapters completely, combined two into a single chapter, broken one chapter into two, and written four brand new chapters.

I’m still pretty concerned about the overall length, since I’m not even at 60k words yet and I’ve got most of the substance of the story covered. I can probably continue to beef up some of the chapters I have, and I have some ideas for a few new chapters to insert, but I don’t think that will get me close to 100k words. There are a number of plot threads that I’ve left open as potential sequel hooks, but now I’m starting to wonder if I should just call what I’ve written “part 1” and use those open threads to create a “part 2” that will take me out to full novel length. I’m kind of reluctant to do that since it’s such a big undertaking, but I’m also worried that if I don’t do it, I won’t be able to ever get this thing finished.

I’m also considering just tidying up what I have and getting some reader feedback to see if there are places in the story where I need more focus that aren’t obvious to me since I’m so close to the material.

Leave a Reply

