Novel Update

Word Count Indicator
Current Word Count: 43372
Words Written Today: 802

Quality Indicator
Current Resolved Issues: 15
Current Open Issues: 36
Issues Resolved Today: 2
Issues Opened Today: 0

I think I’ve created a perverse incentive with the way I’ve been tracking wordcount. I need to rewrite chapter 1 because it has the wrong viewpoint character, it doesn’t have enough action, and is primarly just a huge infodump that sets up the world. But it’s also my longest chapter, so rewriting it will be a lot of work but probably won’t move my wordcount number… I know it’s not rational to have that impact my decisions about what to work on, but I’ve been putting it off for days even though I know I need to do it. I think the perverse incentive built into my indicator might be why I’ve been procrastinating on the chapter 1 rewrite, or at least a contributing factor. It’s starting to block my other work, since I don’t want to work on other chapters that focus on the same character until I nail down where he is at the start of the story. Hopefully I’ll be able to force myself to tackle it tormorrow. I hope that once I do that things will flow a little more smoothly.

EDIT: Well, as is often the case, writing about this issue here on the blog helped me work through it. After I posted this, I went back and rewrote chapter 1. The revised numbers for today are:

Word Count Indicator
Current Word Count: 43486
Words Written Today: 916

Quality Indicator
Current Resolved Issues: 16
Current Open Issues: 35
Issues Resolved Today: 3
Issues Opened Today: 0

Leave a Reply

