Short Story Update

SS01: Current Word Count 1411. Words Today 375. (done?)
SS02: Current Word Count 1255. Words Today 403.

I’m finding short story writing a lot harder than novel writing. That may just be my natural preference, or it may be the whole “last 10% of a project takes 90% of the effort” thing, and it’s easier to get close to the end of a short story than it is to the end of a novel. The stories I’ve tried so far are a lot more experimental than my novel, so that may be part of it, too.

If I stick with the short stories tomorrow, I think I’ll need to come up with a new story idea. I’m not sure where SS02 is going yet and I don’t want to force it too hard, since I think it’s got some good stuff in it. This will be the first time I’ve had to come up with a story idea “under pressure”, even though the pressure is entirely self-imposed.

Leave a Reply

