Novel Update: Rough Draft Done!

Word Count Indicator
Current Word Count: 40069
Words Written Today: 1581

Quality Indicator
Current Resolved Issues: 2
Current Open Issues: 11
Issues Resolved Today: 0
Issues Opened Today: 0

So, the good news is that I’m at 40069 words on my novel. The bad news is that the last two of those words are “the end”, and 40069 words isn’t long enough to be a novel. As I explained in a previous post I think I’ll be able to beef up the word count in the editing/rewrite process.

I’ve heard that you’re supposed to step away from something you’ve written for a week or two before you start the edits, so you can come to it with fresh eyes. I think I’m going to try that, but I also want to keep writing every day, so that means I’ll need to come up with something to write tomorrow. Maybe I’ll start another novel, or maybe a short story or something. I’ve never been a big fan of reading short stories, but it might be something worthwhile to do. It also seems like the barrier to entry is lower for selling short stories compared to novels, but if I wanted to do that I’d need to start researching the various markets to figure out where to submit. I’m not sure if I’m prepared to undertake that kind of research project right now.

One Response to Novel Update: Rough Draft Done!

  1. […] Dan Maruschak’s Blog Writing Wrongs « Novel Update: Rough Draft Done! […]

Leave a Reply

